Celia's blog

Musings on life in Lodeve, Languedoc

Passing though Paris

Posted by celiahukins on 02/11/2011


I passed through Paris the other weekend, to see my son run the Marathon in Reims. 8.25 bus from Lodève, 10.20 train from Montpellier and I was in Paris by 1.50. It doesn’t take too long to walk from the Gare de Lyon to Gare de l’Est to catch the train to Reims. You head first towards Place de la Bastille, then on to Place de la République. This is where I found a café for a green tea. Parisians were enjoying the afternoon sun, which it has to be said was nothing like the Mediterranean sun. It’s another 10 minutes walk after that to Gare de l’Est.
Whenever I have been at République over the years there always seem to have been demonstrations; on this occasion it was something to do with Syria. I couldn’t see any demonstrators – maybe they would arrive later – but the police were out in force.
On my return journey I had champagne in my rucksack, so I took the metro. I had time for a pastis at the Big Ben Bar at the Train Bleu before catching the train to Montpellier and the sun.

Leave a Reply

 
