Celia's blog

Musings on life in Lodeve, Languedoc

September days

Posted by celiahukins on 28/09/2010


As the TV constantly reminded us, 23 September was the first day of Autumn (not to mention the day of another strike about raising the pension age, which did not however prevent me from getting back here.) When I arrived it was raining, but it was still warm and it was good to be back.

After that there has been sunshine, but the weather cooler than usual for the season.

As usual when I arrive I made an inspection of the garden and found figs (lots!) and ripening quinces and pears. I might try to make quince paste again this year. I’m not sure what to do with the pears; they don’t have much flavour.


It looks like the olive harvest will keep me busy in November.

On Saturday morning I saw (and heard) a hunting dog with a bell round his neck – yes it’s the hunting season.. He looked lost and very sorry for himself. I met his owner on my way down to the market. I hope they found each other in the end.

Leave a Reply

 
