Celia's blog

Musings on life in Lodeve, Languedoc

A walk to the end of the world

Posted by celiahukins on 17/03/2009

Cirque du Bout du Monde

Cirque du Bout du Monde

On Friday it was still sunny and another walk called. I decided to investigate the Cirque du Bout du Monde. (Cirque at the End of the World) The name has always intrigued me – I suppose they though it was the end of the world. Maybe they had never been to the top – I haven’t either. I always wonder if it inspired Douglas Adams’ Restaurant at the End of the Universe. But maybe there are lots of other cirques with the same name, though I haven’t found them on Google.
The walk started from Gourgas, not far from Soubes which is a few kilometres north of Lodève. It was another walk from our new book, not too well way-marked, which meant it took me a while to find the right path at the beginning. When I’d eventually found the right way the track climbed up and followed the edge before dropping down again and ending up by a stream. I took my lunch this time.

2 Responses to “A walk to the end of the world”

  1. I couldn’t understand some parts of this article, but I guess I just need to check some more resources regarding this, because it sounds interesting.

  2. […] usual Christmas agenda of meals and walks. Boxing Day walk at the Cirque du Bout du Monde where I’d been before, then a trip to the Maurin wild life reserve where we saw flamingos and a […]

Leave a Reply

 
